top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Fifth Faction

On Designing UI and Particle Effects for Fate of Factions

Hello fellow adventurer! My name is Haden Gregor, and I am a proud member and artist of the Fate of Faction team! My primary work has been 3D modeling, UI development, and particle effects. Recently in this past week, I have been polishing the new UI buttons I created along with creating new particle effects for the classes and environment. Here is a look at some of the work I have been working on!




On the left is the unit frame that I made for the warrior class. Each class has their own unique frame that identifies with their weapons such as the sword, bow, and staff. Each class has three abilities aside from their basic attack and the cooldowns are represented in the black circles below the main frame circle.


On the right is the completed victory screen that will be in the game. This was a fun task as I got to create a screen that displayed a huge slash in the wood behind the victory text from the intense battle that just took place in the arena! I wanted to create polished UI that correlated well together, but also showed off the blood, sweat, and tears that our champions had to go through in battle.




The particle effects that I have been primarily working on for this week have been for the mage, rogue, and collision/death animations. In the game the mage has an ability to launch a huge magical meteor to destroy their opponents. The particle on the left is a marker for the ground to indicate to players where that meteor is going to land. The rings in the circle will move inward as the middle design flows inward and outward to give easy indication of where it is going to be.

The particles on the right were influenced by one of my favorite games, Smash Bros. The death for characters in the game will be displayed by a huge burst of light/energy to where the player will go out in a satisfying way. I wanted to make this bright and exciting to look at with several particles shooting up into the air and having several spiked particles flaring up from the ground.


The whole process of making UI and particle effects for a game is a new experience for me this year, but it has been an exciting one. Creating the exact thing that I used to love watching glow off swords and enchants off gear is what makes this so exciting for me, and I hope that you have enjoyed my work as much as I have enjoyed making it!


Thank you for reading this and being a part of the FoF experience! I hope that you can join us at the online SGX in May and experience all four different classes in the arena!


Remember, choose your class and fight for the glory and honor of your faction! Fight until you are the last person standing! Your strength and efforts will decide the Fate of Factions!


-Haden

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page